The Foundation Stage

In the Foundation Stage (Pre-School, Nursery and Reception) children acquire skills through play. The curriculum is split into seven areas of learning: mathematical; communication and language; literacy; understanding of the world; personal, social and emotional; expressive arts; physical. A rich and balanced programme of activities is provided which gives children first hand experiences of language and thinking skills and awareness of number. We also provide equipment, materials and tools to promote a wide range of physical and creative activities. Children learn through observing, discovering, exploring and experimenting. They learn social skills and how to interact with other children and the expectations of school behaviour and routines. The Foundation Stage curriculum prepares children for the transition to Key Stage 1.

Key Stages 1 and 2

All pupils from the age of five are taught the core curriculum subjects of English, Maths and Science, in addition to the foundation subjects of History, Geography, Technology, Art, Music, PE and Computing, together with Religious Education, Sex and Relationships Education and PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education). Progression in each subject, through the year groups, is carefully planned.

Learning in class

We aim to make learning creative and cross-curricular wherever possible. This means that we make links between subjects e.g. children studying the Victorians in history will use drama to understand what it would have been like to go to a Victorian school and will then write a report on their experience in their Literacy lesson. Teachers ensure that materials in every lesson are presented in a way which is accessible to all children, supporting their individual learning styles. Displays and visuals in each classroom create a rich learning environment which helps children to learn and develops independent learning. Children enjoy meeting and working with specialist visitors e.g. artists, musicians and technicians.

How your children learn

In addition to the curriculum, we teach children the skills they will need to maximise their learning potential, giving them confidence and strategies to cope with and enjoy new challenges so that they become independent learners:

  • How to pose questions and seek answers
  • How to research
  • How to persevere
  • How to solve problems
  • How to self assess, review work, edit and improve it

The Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning

Through our teaching we aim to promote the academic, moral, physical and social development of our children to prepare them for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of secondary school, further education and adult life.

Core Curriculum Subjects – English, Maths and Science

English – The English curriculum, known as literacy, covers the three main programmes of study – speaking and listening, reading and writing. Learning in English is largely taken from the New National Curriculum and other work to provide a balanced and challenging programme of study.

Maths – We have adopted fully the New National Curriculum which provides a clear framework for pupil progression with an emphasis on mental calculation and mathematical understanding.

Science – Through our science curriculum, children develop an understanding of themselves and the world around them.

Please ask for more detail about teaching and learning in each subject.

Foundation Curriculum Subjects:

Please ask for more detail about teaching and learning in each subject.

Personal, Social and Health Education (PSHE)

At King’s Oak we place great importance on PSHE. Through PSHE our children learn the skills they need to be responsible and responsive members of our school community and society. We use the SEAL (Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning) resource which provides a framework for explicitly promoting social, emotional and behavioural skills, with built-in progression for each year group. We believe that these skills are very important and underpin every aspect of school, community and home life. SEAL has five main strands: self awareness, managing feelings, motivation, empathy and social skills.

Sex and Relationships Education (SRE)

SRE is taught progressively and is an integral part of the science and PSHE curriculum covered from Reception through to Year 6. In SRE we aim to prepare children for their lives now and in the future so that they can develop stable and caring relationships. Children learn about the physical and emotional changes of growing up and of human reproduction. Parents/carers have the right to withdraw their child from sessions, although not from those sessions which are taught as part of the National Curriculum. We invite parents/carers to talk to us and see the materials and resources used, before exercising this right.

Religious Education (RE)

RE is taught throughout our school and a school assembly is held every day. This often includes topical aspects or stories from a variety of cultures which investigate moral, social and aesthetic issues. Children will sometimes hear stories from the Bible and the holy books of other Faiths. We celebrate the special holy days of many Faiths and once a week we celebrate achievements and reinforce good attitudes and behaviour. Each class takes a turn to present an assembly to the rest of our school and parents/carers are invited to these assemblies. Parents/carers have a right to withdraw their child from either RE or school assemblies and arrangements can be made for pupils whose parents/carers wish to exercise this right, although we ask that parents/carers discuss this with us first.


We organise swimming lessons for all children as part of the National Curriculum. These take place when children are in Year 4. We make no charge for this activity, but we do ask for a voluntary contribution from parents/carers. We write to inform parents/carers when these lessons are to take place.